Fabricio Werdum Submits Cain Velasquez, Claims Heavyweight Title: UFC 188 Results

Two years away from the octagon and the ring rust showed on Cain Velasquez as he was submitted by Fabricio Werdum in the main event of their heavyweight championship bout at UFC 188. The event took place in Mexico City, Mexico. Two years away and a fight that is taking place over 7,000 feet above sea level turned out to be a bad mix as Velasquez was gassed after the first round. Werdum, who had previously fought in Mexico City before, took control of the fight from there and was able to submit Velasquez with a guillotine choke to become the undisputed heavyweight champion.

In the night’s co-main event what could have been a potential fight of the year turned out to be a forgettable affair. Gilbert Melendez and Eddie Alvarez squared off in a fight that had been a long time in the making. Back when Melendez was with Strikeforce and Alvarez was fighting for Bellator MMA the two had openly asked to fight each other but it took the UFC to finally pit the two against each other. It turned out that the fight may have been better suited to happen in the past as both men looked sluggish and it was Alvarez who had a little more left in the tank to secure the spilt decision victory. Below are the full results from UFC 188.

UFC 188 Main Card (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT)

Fabricio Werdum def. Cain Velasquez via submission Round 3 (2:13)
Eddie Alvarez def. Gilbert Melendez via split decision
Kelvin Gastelum def. Nate Marquardt via TKO in Round 2 (5:00)
Yair Rodriguez def. Charles Rosa, split decision
Tecia Torres def. Angela Hill via unanimous decision

Prelims on FX (8 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. PT)

Henry Cejudo def. Chico Camus, unanimous decision
Efrain Escudero def. Drew Dober via submission in Round 1 (0:54)
Patrick Williams def. Alejandro Perez via submission in Round 1 (0:23)
Johnny Case def. Francisco Trevino via unanimous decision

UFC Fight Pass (7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT)

Cathal Pendred def. Augusto Montano via unanimous decision
Gabriel Benitez def. Clay Collard via unanimous decision

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s